Search This Blog

Pages

Thursday, October 22, 2009

WHY WOULD I LIE?

SO for some time now i have been dealing with the music industry. I have seen every side of it and realized that 90% of the people in front of the camera and behind it, arent putting their blood, sweat, and tears into their work. I have been plotting and plotting on ways, to do my part and bring up the Bay Area entertainment scene, and if you know me or have read my previous blogs, i have bounced from job to job and found my fit in the music industry. But as i bounced around, i have seen many people come and go, be the hottest thing smoking to frostbite dead cold, and wondered how did that happen?

In life there are the "have and have not" people, and then then the "i dont give a fuck if i have it or not, im going to get it," people. It has taken me a long time to see, who is really about that action and the real, and out of everyone i have came across its only been a few that have been true to their word. People in my own family, have failed to prove to me that their "dreams/aspirations/goals" are even reachable. I have ran across so many producers, that ive never heard their work that wanted to charge me more then $1 for there music, and you know what i did, i gave them the deuces. First of all who are you and what significant thing have you done to make me spend money on u where i can go to the proven producers such as Danimals, Rick Rock, Ea Ski, droop e, traxamilion... Like where did that audacity come from. Or the many artist that i have worked with or met that wanted me to get them paid shows, like hello are you serious my biggest client/success is Big Rich, why should you get paid and youve never been to KMEL or KBMB, um who are you again? Like people i cant get you paid if no one is requesting to spend there money with you. I am not a grant recipient thats handing out Free money to the starving artist.. Or how about the models, that want to get paid for their 1st amature video/photo shoot/any gig, must i even start stating the facts about height requirements, or if your an urban model body preferences?? Like who are you in general to be demanding anything, but moreover, who am i to be making all of these demands, i mean why are you listening to me in the first place. Like many people say "im real, or im as real as they come," but honestly, i have walked down the wrong path in life, i have made some very questionable aka bad decisions, i think almost all wrong ones, so i think now i can tell the difference between wrong and right. I have decided that theres only 1 way of going about life, and thats by "ALWAYS ALWAYS DOING THE RIGHT THING." Im not saying im perfect, because i still lie guilty in the way i go about my life like making sure my daughter goes outside to play everyday for at least one hour, or making sure i fold the clothes after they come out of the washer, or drinking more water then juice and soda everyday. But im trying to do better with those things and it takes time, but im dedicated to changing those bad habits. But many people i come across these days, are confused. Like how do you ever expect me to go out of my way to make something possible for you, for free? Like how do you expect me to take time out of my clients day to use their hard earned money for someone who has no interest in giving me a percentage of their check or a monthly payment. Thats bananas! If i am a dj im not going to accpet eveyones cd and play it right there on the spot because they say its good, if i did that then theres a strong possibility that i will clear the dance floor and possibly never get hired by that promoter/vendor again. As a record company co-owner, if we accepted every artist onto the label we would be bankrupt, trying to support everyone with a dreams, dream. So as a dj, radio/tv pd, record label executive, manager, producer, photographer, videographer, engineer, publicist, assistant, artist (with a real dedication), if we accepted everyones request we would all be literally dead and gone, because there would be no progress, no money, no fans to support us.

I cant express how serious this is. If you arent putting forth 25 hours a day 8 days a week, YOU WILL NEVER BE SUCCESSFUL AT ANYTHING. I swear to God, Rich and I breathe, sleep, eat, think, drink, our careers. If we dont then who will be thinking of all of these ideas opportunities. Now dont get me wrong i can only speak for me and Rich, because he explained the value of living what you want, i used to hope and pray, that my success would fall out of heaven into my lap, and the next scene im walking the red carpet as the cameras flash. But thats not how life works for ANYONE. No mater how easy you think someones ride to the top was or is, it was never that easy. Some people can make it the expressway because they came up with a great gimmick, a get fame quick scheme, but for those who will truly live off of their success, that takes hard work and complete dedication, a fatal attraction to your goal, in order to truly make it. So if your dream is to make it and your broke, you better find a hustle that will make u some quick money and put it towards your career, because you need it. And i strongly suggest that you be 1000% legit and legal because anything done in the dark will eventually come to light one day. And to those of you who have some money to spend stop being stingy, because whatever you do comes back to you and just as much as you put in is what you will get back in the end.

As i conclude in my rant, i just want you to understand, im not saying pay me hire me, to run your business, because most of you wont be able to work with me because i cant stand bullshit and i say shit i probably shouldn't have said. I have lost so many friends and acquaintances because i spoke about shit that i wasnt supposed to say. So all im saying is, spend your money on yourself, but when i say that i dont mean, go buy yourself something nice, im saying go invest in your career, go buy some dope ass beats from a hardworking producer like the ones i have stated above, go record in a well put together studio, go hire, a great manager that has a proven record, and give them 20%, go hire my production team and photographer, because they have invested $1000's into their careers, go hire a dope ass publicist that believes in your work and sees a future in your career, and knows they can maximize your potential, because of who they know + your talent, not because your money can buy the add space. Im trying to enlighten the people, like i stated on twitter before, "God didn't give me a voice to mislead his people." He gave me a second chance at life and told me to make things better. So sorry in advance to the people who think im too mean, or giving up too much information, im just doing as i was told. I refuse to purposely mislead those who want to follow and learn the way. I will never operate any business i do or work with any people who will abuse their power. I believe in making things better, its depressing to see the Bay Area's state of hip hop, r & b, modeling, producing, EVERYTHING IN THE URBAN ENTERTAINMENT CATEGORY... We are missing the train again?? I'll be damned if i miss this next opportunity, we are at an advantage to really make some history, but we cant, if we arent supporting the people, who are really working hard, overtime!
So if you can agree, disagree, or ignore what ive said then great, i already know who the bullshitters and the realists are, so, show me nit tell me, prove to the world that you are hot, dont tell us.

1 comment:

  1. These thoughts truly reflect the attitudes and perceptions of most artists out there... they believe it is owed to them and everybody believes they are the shit! Maybe they are but if they don't fine-tune and enhance their skill sets with complementary pairings they will be a lost talent or an overhyped letdown.

    I understand your struggle to maintain a REAL and professional organization. I have worked with artists in my short career that let me down when the spotlight hits or when the going gets tough... frustrating to say the least!

    If you truly believe you are the next big thing then take the time and the quality effort to present yourself as such!

    Caddy Luv from The 40-8,
    BARRITZ

    ReplyDelete